Prepare Ye The Way!

For the Love of the Spirit

Love Is: Part I

Brothers and Sisters,

Once again I welcome you to this blog and pray that you will receive this message with understanding and wisdom that comes from the Love of God through His Holy Spirit that was given to us by the sacrifice of Jesus who is the Christ.  It was by the sacrifice and resurrection of the body of Jesus and His ascension into heaven that the Spirit was enabled to come into the world so that we might become possessed of the Spirit and joint heirs of the Glory of God with our brother Jesus.

For this message I will reference scripture as it is given in the book of I John chapter 4.  My text comes from the New International Version translation.  You may, of course verify my reading of the scripture through whatever translation  you have at your disposal or you may follow this link, Bible Gateway.  You may find the same link in the right sidebar under “Blog Roll.”

Love Is

God.

First John chapter 4 tells us in verse 8 that

Whoever does not love does not know God, because God is love.

He says it again later in verse 16 but as a complete sentence all by itself.

And so we know and rely on the love God has for us.  God is love.  Whoever lives in love, lives in God, and God in him.

In the fourth chapter of this book the word “love,” “loves,” or “loved” appears 26 times (in the NIV) in just 21 verses.  This is phenomenal.   First John speaks of God’s love for us and of our love for God and for one another.  John makes it very clear that our love for one another and for God is secondary for His love for us.

So God is Love, and it follows logically from this that the reverse is also true, that Love is God.  That is, as a perfect being who existed before the world was created who is not only the essence of love but is love itself, that when we say that love is present in its true characteristics, then we are also affirming the presence of God.  One is indistinguishable from the other.  There are those who deny the existence of God and/or the divinity of his son Jesus, but that does not mean that love cannot be present in their lives, for Gods love is universal and is available to all who will accept it, be they believer or not.

But John also makes clear that those who do NOT love, do not know God.  God may be (and is) present in the world universally.  His love is available to everyone know matter where or when they live.  The test is whether this perfect love is within them.

John says also that this love is a direct product of the Spirit and that this is possible because of the resurrection of Jesus.

verses 9-10

This is how God showed his love among us: He sent his one and only Son into the world that we might live through him.  This is love: not that we loved God, but that he loved us . . ..

Finally, in verses 20-21

If anyone says, “I love God,” yet hates his brother, he is a liar.  For anyone who does not love his brother, whom he has seen, cannot love God, whom he has not seen.  And [Jesus] has given us this command: whoever loves God must also love his brother.

When we obey God’s commands we show our love for God and we are told in the Gospel of John, Chapter 13 verses 34 and 35,

A new command I give you: Love one another. As I have loved you, so you must love one another. By this everyone will know that you are my disciples, if you love one another.

This was immediately after Jesus washed their feet and told them as he washed their feet so they were to wash the feet of others.  As Jesus did for them so were they under obligation, out of his love for them and their love for him, to do for others.

I hope we now see what the true nature of genuine love is.  It is God and is experienced by his Spirit living in us sharing its perfect love.

In a future post, I will discuss the qualities of love and how it is expressed in sharing it with one another and in our relationship with the Spirit itself.

September 19, 2011 - Posted by | Love

4 Comments »

  1. I love the definition that we are given in 1 Corinthians of Love. My wife once said to me what Really is true Love? She said is it like in the movies a fairy tale? At that time I was not saved and could not give her an answer. But now being saved I can certainly answer that question to her as you have said God is Love and Love is God. This is the truest form of Love. As we see in 1 Cor 13:4-7 it lists the atributes of love. Even though my wife and I are now seperated I can truly say that because of the Love of God in me that I love her and others more then I ever have before. Love always Todd

    New International Version (NIV)

    4 Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. 5 It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. 6 Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. 7 It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.

    Comment by Todd Brown | September 20, 2011 | Reply

    • You read my mind Todd. I will be doing a “Love is, Part II” very soon where I will get into I Corinthians

      Comment by Michael | September 20, 2011 | Reply

  2. […] Love Is: Part I, I discussed the genesis of Love.  Through a reading of I John chapter 4 and the Gospel of John […]

    Pingback by Love Is: Part II « loveofthespirit | September 21, 2011 | Reply

  3. […] to stoop to earth in the person of an infant.  Now I have spoken of the Being of God as Love in Love Is and will be soon speaking of the other Absolute qualities of the Creator as the Absolutes of Truth […]

    Pingback by A Christmas Message « loveofthespirit | December 22, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

